A NSW Government website

Greening our City grant program

2022 Greening our City grant

2022 Greening our City grant

Up to $10 million has been made available to fund new urban greening projects within the Greater Sydney Region.

The 2022 round of grant funding will support local councils in Greater Sydney to undertake priority tree planting and greening projects in their local government area, with a focus on cooling and greening streets, parks, active transport routes and aligning with outcomes being delivered through the Greener Neighbourhoods Program.

Applications for the 2022 grant round closed on Monday 21 November 2022. Applications are being assessed and successful projects are expected to commence in early 2023.

This grant round is being administered by Local Government NSW on behalf of the Department of Planning and Environment.

Grant Guidelines and supporting information

The 2022 Greening our City Grant Guidelines provide further details about eligibility and the assessment process.

Greening our City 2022 Grant Guidelines (PDF, 873.15 KB)

Data to inform applications and assessment

Data about urban canopy cover (2019) and urban heat (2016) are available to view on the NSW Government’s SEED portal. These datasets and the below summary of suburb level data may assist in the preparation of grant applications and will be used in the assessment process as part of the merit assessment. High merit projects in suburbs with lower canopy levels will be prioritised for project funding.

Average tree canopy and urban heat levels for suburbs in Greater Sydney (PDF, 507.38 KB)

Water efficiency report

A water efficiency study was commissioned to provide guidance for councils to support responsible tree planting. Applicants are encouraged to draw on this study as part of their application.

Eligible councils

The following councils are eligible for grant funding as part of this grant round:

  • Bayside Council
  • Blacktown City Council
  • Blue Mountains City Council
  • Burwood Council
  • Camden Council
  • Campbelltown City Council
  • City of Canada Bay
  • Canterbury-Bankstown Council
  • Cumberland City Council
  • Fairfield City Council
  • Georges River Council
  • Hawkesbury City Council
  • The Hills Shire Council
  • Hornsby Shire Council
  • Hunter’s Hill Council
  • Inner West Council
  • Ku-ring-gai Council
  • Lane Cove Council
  • Liverpool City Council
  • Mosman Municipal Council
  • North Sydney Council
  • Northern Beaches Council
  • City of Parramatta Council
  • Penrith City Council
  • Randwick City Council
  • City of Ryde Council
  • Strathfield Council
  • Sutherland Shire Council
  • City of Sydney
  • Waverley Council
  • Willoughby City Council
  • Wollondilly Shire Council
  • Woollahra Municipal Council

More information

For grant assistance contact Local Government NSW: