A NSW Government website


NSW MDB Fractured Rock Water Resource Plan

Accredited in November 2022. Learn more about the draft process and the accredited plan.

Page under review

We are making changes to the website. This page is currently under review.

Status – closed

Commonwealth accreditation stage

Submitted April 2020
Withdrawn September 2021

Accredited November 2022

Read the accredited water resource plan

Commonwealth accreditation

All NSW Water Resource Plans (WRPs) were submitted in 2020 to the Murray–Darling Basin Authority (MDBA) to assess the plan against accreditation requirements of the Basin Plan 2012. Where plans have been submitted (and not withdrawn), a copy of the submitted Plan and the schedules and appendices is available on the MDBA website. The MDBA is progressing its assessment of NSW WRPs and notifying NSW on the outcome of this assessment. Where further work is required to address accreditation requirements, NSW WRPs are being withdrawn and will be resubmitted. At the time of withdrawal, the submitted documents are removed from the MDBA website. Refer to the Water Resource Plans–status: Water in New South Wales page for the status of each plan.

Changes made to the draft plan based on feedback from public consultation and the MDBA’s preliminary advice is provided in the summary of changes (PDF, 264.69 KB) fact sheet.

Water sharing plans continue to be the legal instrument for managing water resources in NSW. Water resource plans are put in place to implement the Commonwealth Basin Plan 2012.

What area does the plan cover?

The NSW Murray-Darling Basin Fractured Rock Water Resource Plan covers groundwater stored within the fractures, joints, bedding planes, faults and cavities within the geological rock mass of the NSW Murray-Darling Basin as well as alluvial sediments that overlie these fractured rock systems that have not been explicitly captured elsewhere.

The NSW Murray Darling Basin Fractured Rock (GW11) is composed of the following nine sustainable diversion limit resource units (SDL resource units):

  • Adelaide Fold Belt (GS10)
  • Inverell Basalt (GS18)
  • Kanmantoo Fold Belt (GS19)
  • Lachlan Fold Belt (GS20)
  • Liverpool Ranges Basalt (GS22)
  • New England Fold Belt (GS37)
  • Orange Basalt (GS39)
  • Warrumbungle Basalt (GS49)
  • Young Granite (GS51)

Public exhibition

Public exhibition of the NSW Murray-Darling Basin Fractured Rock Water Resource Plan is now closed. All submissions have been reviewed by the Department of Planning and Environment. Public information sessions were held at Gunnedah, Orange and Yass in August 2019.

The following respondents agreed to have their submissions published on this website. Note that not all respondents elected to have their submissions published.


The views expressed in the submissions are the views of the respondents. While the department seeks to ensure that offensive material is not published, the department is not responsible for the views expressed in the submissions.

Download the submissions (PDF. 217KB)

If you require assistance in reading these documents, please contact 1300 081 047 or water.enquiries@dpie.nsw.gov.au