A NSW Government website

Placemaking NSW was formed in June 2020, incorporating Place Management NSW (formerly Sydney Harbour Foreshore Authority). Placemaking NSW focuses on the development and management of some of the most important harbourside precincts in Sydney.

These include high profile precincts of The Rocks, Barangaroo and Darling Harbour, Luna Park, Ballast Point Park and waterfront areas in Pyrmont. These special places include more than 100 heritage buildings as well as unique venues such as the Chinese Garden of Friendship and major event facilities at the International Convention Centre.

The Rocks is considered to be the most significant heritage precinct relating to European settlement in Australia. Items of heritage significance in our precincts include existing and potential archaeological sites, landscapes, buildings, engineering structures, monuments and movable heritage.

When a site is identified as being of heritage significance or has archaeological potential, proposals may require application under the NSW Heritage Act 1977, additional to other statutory approvals and permits.

Placemaking NSW is also currently managing the important remediation and conservation works at White Bay Power Station in Rozelle. It was recently appointed to manage the Bays West Stage 1 urban renewal project and aims to have the site activated in time for the opening of the new Metro West line in 2030. It is also responsible for master planning Rozelle Bay.

Our Places

The Rocks

Placemaking NSW owns and manages Sydney's oldest historic harbourside precinct and the birthplace of modern Sydney - The Rocks.


Darling Harbour

Placemaking NSW owns and manages the 60 hectare Darling Harbour site, which includes 28 hectares of water, known as Cockle Bay.



Barangaroo is place-making in progress, an evaluation of exceptional infrastructure, design and architecture, public spaces and experiences.


Luna Park Reserve

The Luna Park Reserve at Milsons Point is one of the most prominent and visually distinctive landmarks on the Sydney Harbour Foreshore.


Our Developments

Bays West

Bays West comprises Rozelle Bay, Rozelle Rail Yards, White Bay, Glebe Island and White Bay Power Station.

White Bay Power Station

The heritage-listed White Bay Power Station located at Robert Street, Rozelle, and includes surrounding lands to the White Bay foreshore.

Related information and resources

Permits and applications

Your permit application enables Property NSW to undertake certain safety measures, and to ensure the suitability of the locations you wish to work in.

If you would like to apply for a permit to busk in Circular Quay and Darling Harbour, visit Place Permits.

If you are unable to find the permit or application you are searching for below, or require help with any related matters, please email us at PMNSW@cbre.com.au.

Permits and applications


The financial position and operational activities for Place Management NSW and the Luna Park Reserve Trust have been reported in their entity annual reports.

Venue hire and commercial opportunities

The Rocks and Darling Harbour, Sydney's most popular waterside precincts, provide the perfect locations to make any event a success whether it be a commercial activation, a cultural festival, a community activity or even a wedding.

Application and booking information

The Place Management NSW (PMNSW) Board is appointed in accordance with the Place Management NSW Act 1998. The Board oversees PMNSW’s policies, management and performance, sets strategic direction for the entity and monitors compliance with statutory requirements. The Board monitors organisational performance against strategic objectives.

PMNSW’s Chief Executive is responsible for the day-to-day management of PMNSW in accordance with specific policies and general direction of the Board and is subject to the control and direction of the Minister.

Board members are appointed by the Minister for a three-year term.

Placemaking NSW Advisory Committee



Ken Kanofski

Chair, Placemaking NSW

Romilly Madew

Advisory Committee and Place Management NSW Board Member

Bridget Smyth

Advisory Committee and Place Management NSW Board Member

Melanie Hawyes

Advisory Committee and Place Management NSW Board Member

Alex O’Mara

Advisory Committee and Place Management NSW Board Member

Richard Horne

Advisory Committee and Place Management NSW Board Member

Anita Mitchell

Chief Executive, Placemaking NSW

Contact us

For enquiries about Placemaking NSW, please email: contactustherocks@property.nsw.gov.au.