A NSW Government website

Councillor training

Video series

The Department of Planning and Environment brings together specialists in urban and regional planning, natural resources, environment, heritage, Aboriginal and social housing, and regional New South Wales.

These videos provide a valuable overview of a decision-maker’s role in water management, a critical aspect of council business. The experienced councillors identify challenges they face and explain their strategies for making informed decisions to ensure that the essential services of safe drinking water supply and sewage management are maintained now and into the future.

Cr Sharon Cadwallader

Deputy Chairman, Rous Water County Council and Mayor, Ballina Shire Council.

Cr Doug Hawkins

Mayor, Liverpool Plains Shire Council.

Cr Tim Koschel

Chairperson, Riverina Water County Council and Councillor, Wagga Wagga City Council.

Cr David Somervaille

Chairman, Central Tablelands Water and Deputy Mayor, Blayney Shire Council.

Cr Bill West

Mayor, Cowra Shire Council.

Cr Patricia White

Councillor, Shoalhaven City Council.