A NSW Government website


Murray Alluvium Water Resource Plan

The MDBA accredited this plan in August 2023.

Status – Accredited

Submitted April 2020
Withdrawn June 2020
Resubmitted September 2022

Accredited August 2023

Read the accredited water resource plan

What area does the plan cover?

The Murray Alluvium Water Resource Plan covers groundwater within the alluvial deposits in NSW of the upper and lower Murray River and Billabong Creek.

The Murray Alluvium (GW8) is composed of four sustainable diversion limit resource units (SDL resource units):

  • Upper Murray Alluvium (GS46)
  • Lower Murray Shallow Alluvium (GS27a)
  • Lower Murray Deep Alluvium (GS27b)
  • Billabong Creek Alluvium (GS13)

Commonwealth accreditation process

The NSW Government first submitted the Murray Alluvium Water Resource Plan to the Murray–Darling Basin Authority (MDBA) in April 2020 and resubmitted it with changes in September 2022. The plan is now operational, following its accreditation by the MDBA in August 2023.

Changes made to the draft plan based on feedback from public consultation and the MDBA’s preliminary advice are provided in the summary of changes fact sheet PDF, 257.8 KB.

Public exhibition

Public exhibition of the Murray Alluvium Water Resource Plan Water Resource Plan is now closed. Public information sessions were held at Darlington Point and Wagga Wagga in November 2018. All submissions have been reviewed by the department.

The following respondents agreed to have their submissions published on this website. Note that not all respondents elected to have their submissions published.


The views expressed in the submissions are the views of the respondents. While the department seeks to ensure that offensive material is not published, the department is not responsible for the views expressed in the submissions.

Download the submissions (PDF. 1,117KB)

If you require assistance in reading these documents, please contact 1300 081 047 or water.enquiries@dpie.nsw.gov.au